Summer 2019
Events & Activities


  1. Creative Children's Award — Float that was created at least 50% by children. Muse have children on board, participating.

  2. Best of Show/Original Theme Award ­ Pontoon Boat Entry. The most creative and original entry.

  3. Best of Show/Original Theme Award — Other boat entry — the most Creative and original entry.

  4. Sylvia Lake Spirit and enthusiasm Award -- Showing  true spirit and enthusiasm for Sylvia Lake.



Thank you to Carrie & Kurt Runner for coordinating and bringing back this great Sylvia Lake tradition. Thanks also to Harland Brown for the trophies. There were nine boats entered. Much appreciation to our judges, who had a very difficult task. As Carrie said, "We couldn't have our parade without official judges..."

  • Linda & Gary Scott
  • Melissa Tersmette
  • Mark Leonard
  • Libby Moore & David Undercoffler
  • Shae (& Lenore) Heitz

And the winners of the 2019 Sylvia Lake Boat Parade are:

Best in Show: Kirby's Camp- Wild West

Best in Show Runner Up: Force Camp & Friends- Dawg Party

Children's Award: DeLorraine Camp- Under the Sea

Spirit & Enthusiasm: Putman Clan- the 80's


37th Annual Charlie Ferguson Memorial Fishing Derby

Go to the Derby page

Thank you to all the sailors who came out for the 5th Annual Nori Grout Memorial Regatta, 2019.

Winners included:

1st - Greg Force

2nd - Tricia Grout Garrett

3rd - Joe Robles

Big shout-out to Greg and Ronda Force for their generous donation of the trophy and medals for the fifth year running. What a wonderful way to honor and remember Nori Grout, who taught a love of sailing to so many.

Great Light Up The Lake event.

Thanks Carrie Runner!

No theme, no rules, no prizes, just FUN!


Here's my best photo of the event.

It was a really close match.

In fact, it was originally thought that Trout Lake was the winner, but after removing the extra player that Sylvia Lake had, the 11 players for Trout lake vs the 11 Players for Sylvia lake tied for total score.

Ted Totten (Trout lake) and Patrick Reilly (Sylvia Lake) tied for medalist with a 37 and Frank Lallier won closest to the pin on # 2 and Dan Lallier won closest to the pin on #8.

The lakes series is tied. Trout Lake won 1, Sylvia Lake won 1 and 1 tie.

Next year should be interesting.

This is a "First Responder's" board. A large map, will be displayed, based on Bill deLorraine's map, with the names removed and the roads highlighted.

Lea Dickson and Robyn Estey presented the project to the SLA Board as a "West North Shore project." It was funded by the S.L. Association. It was constructed by Tim Knowlton & Kids from BOCES.

Many people contributed time and energy. If any SL road would like one... contact Lea Dickson who will hook you up with Tim. He is retiring this year, so it needs to be ASAP.

THANK YOUs to those who made it happy: Robyn Estey, Lea Dickson, Missy Tersmette, Wayne Jones, Dan Estey, Carrie Runner, Kurt Runner, Lynn Allen, and Shari Barnhart.


Sylvia Lake Association: Preserving, Protecting, and Promoting the Welfare of Sylvia Lake Since 1968